Tocqueville Society

You are here

The Alexis de Tocqueville Society, now known as The Tocqueville Society, was created by United Way of America in 1972. The Tocqueville Society of the River Region United Way was formed in 1984 to deepen individual understanding of, commitment to, and support of United Way’s work: advancing the common good by creating opportunities for a better life for all. This unique society recognizes people who have rendered outstanding voluntary service in their communities and contribute significant annual gifts to the River Region United Way in the amount of $10,000.00 or more.

The Society's name was chosen because of the 19th century French diplomat Alexis de Tocqueville's admiration for the spirit of voluntary association and voluntary effort for the common good - a spirit he had observed in America and about which he wrote enthusiastically. Learn more about the national Tocqueville Society

The Tocqueville Society of the River Region United Way is grateful for the generosity of its members and recognizes their deep commitment to philanthropy and community service.


Members of The Tocqueville Society
of the River Region United Way


Ordre de Fraternité
Margaret and Jimmy Lowder*


Ordre de Liberté
John Caddell

Membres de la Socié
Ginny and Eddie Adair Lucy and Hans Luquire
Mary and Sam Adams Heather and William McConnell
Ann and John Albritton, Jr. Jennifer and Forrest McConnell, III
Jane and Greg Allen Kathie and Mac McLeod, Jr.
Jake Aronov Carla and Ted Meadows
Loree and Owen Aronov Amy and Tom Methvin
Nan and Ronnie Barganier Susu and Temple Millsap, III
Amelia and Rocky Barnes Joan and Bill Mitchell
Linda and Sandy Benkwith Pat and John Moorehouse
Sally and Young Boozer, III Peggy and Maurice Mussafer
Lynda and Dave Borden Linda and Larry Puckett
Maureen and Arthur Britton Emilie and Bruce Reid
Cathy Caddell and Charlie Warnke Cathy and Jim Ridling
Dorothy Cameron Jane F. Rothschild and Mario Castura
Gail and George Clements Susan and Bob Runkle
Julie and Lanny Crane Carlyn and Steve Russell
Katherine and Eric Crum Janey and Keith Sabel
Elizabeth Crump Dawn and Adam Schloss
Ginny and Ben Cumbus Cindy and Bob Seibels
Suzanne and Steve Davidson Janet and Ned Sheffield
Morris Dees and Katie Kalahar Emily and George Smith, Jr.
Leah and Chris Dubberly Beverly and Richard Stabler
Nancy and Lee Ellis Winnie and Charlie Stakely
Laura and Barrie Harmon, III Trey Starke, III
Camille and Inge Hill, Jr. Brenda and Karl Stegall
Joyce Hobbs* Robin and Eddie Stewart
Kent and Mike Jenkins, IV Eddie Stivers and Amy Selbee
Mary and Keith Karst Linda and Todd Strange
Sug and Tommy Keene Lisa and Vernon Taylor
Jeila and Knox Kershaw Robbins Taylor, Sr.
Jane and Jim Klingler Alice and David Thrasher
Eleanor and Pee Wee Kohn Helen Till
Pat and Jerry Kyser, Sr. Laurie Jean Weil and Tommy Wool
Gage and Mark LeQuire Lisa and Andy Weil, III
Mary Lynne Levy Sheila and Bobby Weil, II
Carol and Jamie Loeb, Jr. Helen Crump Wells
Joan Loeb* Pat and Billy Williamson, Jr.
Cindy and Gaeton Lorino Mary Lee and John Yelverton, III
Laura and Mike Luckett * Founding Member

All Tocqueville Society members are listed in the national Tocqueville Society directory and receive special recognition in our Annual Report and on our website (unless they prefer to remain anonymous). These generous contributors are also invited to join their fellow Tocqueville Society members at special donor appreciation events.

At the spring event, the Tocqueville Society Award honors both individuals and couples for their continued commitment to philanthropy and advocacy. For more information about The Tocqueville Society Award of the River Region United Way, click here.

Last updated March 22, 2018